Roughriders release 26 on CFL cut down day

By Jamie Nye
June 22, 2014 - 11:43am

The Saskatchewan Roughriders gave 26 players the bad news that they didn't make the 46 man roster.

The biggest news may be more so who made the team than who didn't with many tight battles over the last three weeks.

Running backs Keith Toston and Anthony Allen both made the team as the duo tasked to replace Grey Cup MVP Kory Sheets.

As for who Darian Durant will be throwing the ball to; Chaz Schilens, Ryan Smith, Brett Swain, Eron Riley and Alex Pierzchalski will join veterans Chris Getzlaf, Taj Smith and Rob Bagg in the lineup.

Receiver Alex Pierzchalski took to twitter after the news broke, "Dreams can come true," he wrote. "Officially a Rider. Speechless and excited to keep working and getting better."

Among the familiar names gone are veterans receivers and local products Jordan Sisco and Jade Etienne.

On the defensive side of the ball, their were no major surprises as the team decided to go with defensive tackles Trevor Guyton and Derek Walker to help replace the departed Keith Shologan, Jermaine McElveen and Zack Evans. Gutyon and Walker outplayed second year Rider Richard Sumlin, who was among the releases today.

At quarterback, Seth Doege beat out Adam Weber for the third string job behind Darian Durant and Tino Sunseri.

There is still hope for the 26 released, as the Riders can name 10 of them to the practice roster. The practice roster should be announced in next 72 hours.

The biggest impact on the team may be who ended up on the six-game injured list to start the season. First-year linebacker Chad Kilgore was injured in the first half against Edmonton on Friday night. Kilgore's play had him at the top of the depth chart at the middle linebacker spot.

Last year's fourth overall pick Corey Watman will start the year on the one-game injured list.

Here is a full list of the cuts:

Nationals: Receivers Alex Anthony, Jordan Sisco, Jade Etienne, Kris Bastien; offensive linemen Matt Vonk, Kyle Paterson; fullback Andre Lalonde; kicker John Mark; defensive lineman Ryan Wellman; linebacker Travis Bent, Kevin Regimbald; defensive back Matt Webster.

Internationals: Quarterback Adam Weber; Running back Jermaine Thomas; Receivers Dan DePalma, DeMarco Sampson, Isaiah Sweeney; Offensive lineman Devin Tyler; Defensive linemen Richard Sumlin, Jeremy Beal, Robert Eddins, Markus White; Linebackers Brandon Isaac, Mortty Ivy, Defensive backs Troy Stoudermire, Greg McCoy

[email protected]

Twitter: @princealbertnow

PA U14 Celtic Girls experience first loss of the season

Join the Discussion

paNOW is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules: Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. See full commenting rules.